2000 grads

The first graduating class of Gender Studies majors in 2000

Leila Ahmed

Lelia Ahmed gives a lecture in May 2012

Alison Bechdel and student

Alison Bechdel speaks with a student at an exhibition of her work

Lauren Berlant and Mel Chen

Professor Lauren Berlant introducing guest speaker Mel Chen

Lauren Berlant and Kristen Schilt

Professors Lauren Berlant and Kristen Schilt participate in a zine making workshop

Hillary Chute and Alison Bechdel

Professor Hillary Chute and Alison Bechdel

Classroom

Students participate in a classroom discussion at CSGS

Community room

The Community Room at 5733 S University

center door

Center entrance

2011 fellows

CSGS Fellows in 2011

5733 exterior

The exterior of 5733 S University

Student question

A student asks a question after a talk by Kimberly Peirce in October 2011

Program Alumni

Alumni Affiliates of the Center for the Study of Gender and Sexuality

When we were developing the exhibition "On Equal Terms": Education Women at the University of Chicago, we thought we should create a space to list graduate affiliates. This provides a historical record of our grads, helps everyone stay in contact with each other and us, and provides a resource for our current students who wonder what ever happened to the students who came before them. To start, this will be a list of names, but as it develops it can also become an updated contact list with addresses and current positions. This could also become a source of mentors and contacts for our majors as they explore their future career options.

All alumni of the University of Chicago interested in Gender and Sexuality Studies are welcome to participate in any of our events throughout the year.

Beatriz Aldana Marquez
PhD candidate, Sociology, Texas A&M
baldana7@gmail.com

Mohammed Ali, '13
Member, Faculty Assistant Team, UC-Irvine Law School
mali@law.uci.edu

Stephanie Bell, AB '08
San Francisco, CA, The Bridgespan Group
stephanie.bell@bridgespan.org

Brianna Marie Benner, AB '04
Housing Program Specialist, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
brianna@alumni.uchicago.edu

Rachel Cromidas, AB '10
RedEye Staff Reporter, Tribune Media Group
rcromidas@gmail.com

Lulu Danzig, AB '11
Development Manager at Seattle Jewish Community School
danzig.lulu@gmail.com

Andrew Delicata, AB '01
Performing Arts Manager, KMP Artists
andrewdelicata@gmail.com or andrew@kmpartists.com

Doug Dishong, AB '10
Director, Global Finance Operations, Blackboard, Inc.
doug.dishong@gmail.com

Dan Fang, AB '10
PhD Student, English, Vanderbilt
dan.fang@vanderbilt.edu

Leslie Fenton, AB '02
Assistant Chief Counsel, California Department of Health Care Services
lmfenton@gmail.com

Nadia Marie Gaya, AB '04
Tax Consultant, Deloitte
nmgaya@gmail.com

Molly Hales, AB '08
PhD candidate in Medical Anthropology, UCSF and UCB
mollyhales@gmail.com

Katie Ann Hasson, AB '00
Assistant Professor of Sociology, University of Southern California
khasson@usc.edu

Sharon Jiae Kim AB '08
Program Manager, Earth Institute
sjkim@ei.columbia.edu

Melanie MacBride, AB '02
Attorney, Metropolitan Family Services
macbridm@metrofamily.org

Melissa Maciejewski
Event Manager, Dinner Lab
melissamaciejewski@gmail.com

Devon Magliozzi AB '12
PhD candidate in Sociology
dmaglioz@stanford.edu

Deborah Megdal, AB '08
JD Yale Law School
dmegdal@uchicago.edu

Erin Moore, AB '07
PhD candidate, Comparative Human Development, UChicago CSGS Dissertation Fellow
emoore@uchicago.edu

Charles Moran, AB '05
PhD ’13 Communications, UC San Diego
cwmoran@ucsd.edu

Renee Neuner, AB '02
Teacher of English Language Arts, Boston International Newcomers Academy
renee.neuner@gmail.com

Cindy Nguyen, AB '08
MBA ’14 Chicago Booth School of Business
cindy.tang.nguyen@gmail.com

Melissa Oglesby, AB '02
Prospect Specialist, Teach for America
melissaroglesby@gmail.com

Lauren Osen, AB '07
Senior Producer for Airtalk, KPCC, Southern California Public Radio
laurenosen@gmail.com

Julie Patel, AB '00
Reporter, The Center for Public Integrity
julievpatel@hotmail.com

Naomi Sobel, AB '05
Development Officer, Major Gifts, Astraea
nsobel@alumni.uchicago.edu

Whitney Westmorland AB '13
Master’s Student, Marriage and Family Therapy, Appalachian State University
whitneywestmorland@gmail.com

Malic White, AB '12
Writer, Performer, Director, Neo-Futurist Theater Ensemble
malicw@neofuturists.org

Sara Winter-Rosenberg, AB '05
Spanish teacher at Mundelein High School District 120
sb.winterrosenberg@gmail.com

We welcome your ideas for how we might expand our outreach and ongoing contact. One idea discussed is having contact persons for each cohort; please let us know if you are interested in doing this for your class.

To become an alumni affiliate, share ideas of expanding this outreach, or submit questions, email Gina Olson at golson@uchicago.edu. Please provide your full name, your graduation year and program, city, current affiliation, and an email address.

LGBT Alumni Network

Alumni of the Center are welcome and invited to join and participate in the University-wide LGBT Alumni Network. Formally established in 2009, the group holds regular programs in a number of cities throughout the country, and strives to strengthen alumni knowledge of and connections with related programs on campus. To learn more or get involved in the LGBT Alumni Network, please visit the website at: http://www.UChicagoLGBTAlumni.org/.